Monday, December 21, 2015

Review 'An East End Christmas' by Elizabeth Waite


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26171697-an-east-end-christmas?from_search=true&search_version=service
‘An East End Christmas’ is an emotional, compelling and page-turning story that will be perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Carol Rivers. 

Carla Scofield has looked after her family since she was a teenager but it's never been a bother because there isn't anything she wouldn't do for those closest to her. Warm, friendly, and with the ability to make everyone around her laugh, she carries her burden proudly.

As the years roll past, Carla sees life around her change dramatically. Wartime brings new challenges and a new job for Carla in a sewing factory, and she shines. It also brings with it love and Carla has a chance at real happiness - but not everyone is rooting for her. With Christmas ahead of her, and her sights set firmly on love and the future, will she be too distracted to sense the danger before it's too late?


Facts:


Publication Date:   August 27th 2015, by Sphere
Series:                    -
Genre:                    Christmas, Fiction
Pages:                    272
Formats:                eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audio Book
Available at:          Amazon US, Amazon UK

My Review:


A view weeks ago I received ‘An East End Christmas’. Since Christmas is my all-time favorite holiday, and I seriously just love everything about this time of year, I was super excited to start reading this book.

In ‘An East End Christmas’ we meet Carla Scofield, a young woman in her early twenties. Carla has taken care of her family ever since her mother died. She loves her family and will do anything to make sure her family is taken care of. When the war starts, everything changes, Carla has to move to a little village near the sea and she has to move in with a woman she doesn’t really know. But with the kindness of others, Carla soon finds her way around.

This book is a perfect read for Christmas time. It definitely has a feel good ring to it. Carla’s family is really close and they do everything for each other, strangers are kind for one another and everyone seems to find love.
Although I did enjoy this book, I had some troubles with this read. It just was a little too much for me at times. People just were to kind, and everyone seemed to love Carla without having a reason for it.. I mean really??  The romance also was not what I expected. Carla and Paul meet, they supposedly go on a view dates, were we read nothing about, Paul leaves the country and through letters they got engaged. It just felt to unreal for me.

The other trouble I had was that this book was relatively short, but several years go by. And at times it really felt too rushed for me. One moment we would be in the beginning of the 1940’s and the next the war was almost over. I really would have liked to have more details. For example about the dates between Carla and Paul. Now we just have to assume they had a nice time.

This book was a nice read, and definitely perfect for Christmas time.

My Rating:

About the Author:


Elizabeth Waite was born in Tooting, South London and lived there until she was 34. During the war she worked as a bus conductress at Merton Garage. In 1956 she and her husband moved to Devon and bought their first guesthouse. Now retired, Elizabeth lives in East Sussex. ‘An East End Christmas’ is her eighteenth novel.

For more infomation about books by Elizabeth Waite, please visit Goodreads.  

I received this book from the Little, Brown Book Group in exchange for my honest review.
 
https://www.littlebrown.co.uk/

2 comments:

  1. It's so much reading books that take place around christmas. Christmas always feels so magical and books that take place around christmas have that feel too. I like the sound of how this book has that feel good feel, although it does sound a bit too much at times. And the way the romance develops sounds a bit weird. I rather experience their dates, so I can feel the conection between the characters. And for such a short book to tell a story that spans several years, that sounds rushed indeed. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Lola. This book definitely had a magical feel to it. And although there were a view things I didn't really like, this book was still a nice read. The author probably wanted this book to be more about the journey of the main character Carla, than a romance story.. but a little more detail would have worked much better.

      Delete

 
Imagination Designs
Artwork from: www.createthecut.com