Friday, June 9, 2017

Review 'A Tapping at my Door' by David Jackson


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28932946-a-tapping-at-my-door
From the bestselling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham

A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven, and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes.

DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case. But the police have no leads, except the body of the bird - and the victim's missing eyes.

As flashbacks from his past begin to intrude, Cody realizes he is battling not just a murderer, but his own inner demons too.

And then the killer strikes again, and Cody realizes the threat isn't to the people of Liverpool after all - it's to the police.

Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of David Jackson's new Nathan Cody series.

The Facts:


Publication Date:
April 7th, 2016
Series:
DS Nathan Cody #1
Genre:
Mystery, Crime
Pages:
384
Formats:
eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audio
Available at:

My Review:


I love reading crime novels. I don’t really get to read them as much as I used too when I was in my teens, but crime novels are still one of my favorite genres to read. I devoured a lot of the Karin Slaughter novels, and J.D. Robb is definitely also one of my favorite Authors. So when I was asked to read the David Jackson’s new Nathan Cody series, I couldn’t say yes fast enough.

In ‘A Tapping At My Door’ we follow DS Nathan Cody on a new case of a supposed cop killer, who’s leasing some weird messages. This is Cody’s first case back after he was involved with a undercover mission that went terribly wrong. Now Cody doesn’t only have to find out who the murderer is that is brutal killing his colleagues, he also has to find a way to cope with his own demons. Thankfully Cody gets some help from his new colleague, and old girlfriend Megan Webley.

I had some high hopes before I started reading ‘A Tapping At My Door’. It was the first crime novel I read in a while, and I really wanted to be swept away into a interesting murder investigation. And thankfully my high hopes were met, and I completely devoured this book.

Not only was the murder investigation really good, and kept me on the edge of my seat, I also really loved getting to know the main character Cody. There was a lot of mystery about what happened to him on his last case, and I was really intrigued about finding out the truth about him. Off course the Author made sure we still have some thing to wonder about, but we also got some answers which really made me happy.

David Jackson, really made this into a great read that keeps you interested till the very last page. The murders are gruesome and really weird, their are several suspects and there are some personal problems for the main characters. That’s definitely a combination I love. And I for one can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

My Rating:


About the Author:


David Jackson is the acclaimed author of the crime thriller series featuring New York detective Callum Doyle. Pariah, his debut novel, was Highly Commended in the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Awards. It is published in the UK by Pan Macmillan, and various audio and foreign rights have been sold. Follow-up novels in the series are: The Helper, Marked, and Cry Baby. The Guardian newspaper said of David’s writing: ‘Recalls Harlan Coben – though for my money Jackson is the better writer.’

For more information about David Jackson please visit his website. Or visit him on Twitter

I received this book from Bonnier Publishing in exchange for my honest review.  

http://www.bonnierpublishing.co.uk/

No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Imagination Designs
Artwork from: www.createthecut.com